Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Culinary instructors and students honored at 2009 ACF National Convention

The American Culinary Federation (ACF) honored chefs, chef-instructors, students, culinary industry professionals and foodservice establishments at the 2009 ACF National Convention held in Orlando, Fla., July 11—14. The national convention provided attendees with numerous opportunities to advance their professional development and enhance their culinary skills through informative workshops and seminars; cutting-edge demonstrations; and a tradeshow featuring more than 100 exhibitors, national competitions and ACF’s annual national awards.

The following educators, students and culinary programs were honored:

ACF National Chef Educator of the Year
- Timothy Bucci, CEC, CCE, CHE; associate professor, Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill.; ACF Louis Joliet Chapter

ACF National Student Chef of the Year (sponsored by Custom Culinary Inc.)
- Kelly Conwell; graduate, Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan.; ACF Greater Kansas City Chefs Association

ACF National Student Team Championship (sponsored by R.L. Schreiber Inc.)
- Chefs de Cuisine Association of Hawaii Honolulu, students at Kapi’olani Community College, Honolulu: Anna Hirano, Keaka Lee, Tate Nakano-Edwards, San Shoppell, Rena Suzuki and Frank Leake, CCC, CCE, coach.

ACF Industry Partnership Award
- Le Cordon Bleu, Secaucus, N.J.

Excellence in Education Award
- Grace Yek, CCC; chef-instructor, Midwest Culinary Institute at Cincinnati State, Cincinnati

ACF Humanitarian of the Year Award
- Lynn Krause, CEPC, AAC; culinary instructor, Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau, Mo.; Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis Inc.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Noreen Kinney; president, Cordon d'Or - Gold Ribbon Inc., St. Petersburg, Fla.

ACF President's Medallion Recipients
- Gary Fitting, CEC, CCE, CCA, AAC; chef-instructor, IUP Academy of Culinary Arts, Punxsutawney, Pa.; The Groundhog Chapter of the ACF
- Kevin Keating, CEC, CCE; dean of culinary arts, Keiser University, Tallahassee, Fla.; ACF Tallahassee Area Chefs Association
- Brian Knecht, CEC, CCA, ACE, AAC; department chair and instructor, Sarasota County School Board, Sarasota, Fla.; ACF Sarasota Bay Chefs Association
- David Kramer; culinary-arts instructor, College of DuPage, Glen Ellyn, Ill.; ACF Windy City Professional Culinarians Inc.
- Keith Mandabach, CEC, AAC, Ed.D.; chef, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, N.M.; ACF Rio Grande Valley Chapter
- Christopher Misiak, CEC, CCE; executive chef, Schoolcraft College, Livonia, Mich.; ACF Michigan Chefs de Cuisine Association

Culinary Program Full-Service Restaurant Facility category
- Riverside City College Culinary Academy, Riverside, Calif.
- Statler Erie Room Restaurant at Erie Community College, Buffalo, N.Y.

American Academy of Chefs (AAC) Sharing Culinary Traditions Award
- L. Timothy Ryan, CMC, AAC; president, The Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park, N.Y.; Mid Hudson Culinary Association

2009 American Academy of Chefs Fellows

- Kyle Richardson, CEC, CCE; professor of culinary arts, Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill.; ACF Louis Joliet Chapter

2009 American Academy of Chefs Honorary Fellows
- Patrick Diethelm; director/head chef-instructor, DCT European Culinary & Pastry Chocolate Arts Center, Lucerne, Switzerland
- Robert Nograd; dean emeritus, Johnson & Wales University, Miami, Fla.