Thursday, April 22, 2010

RCA announces '10 award winners

The Research Chefs Association (RCA) announced its 2010 award winners at the RCA Annual Luncheon on March 20, during the association’s Annual Conference & Culinary Expo. Each year, the RCA presents awards that recognize the industry's most dedicated and influential members.

President's Awards
Pioneer Award
Michael Lonteen, CEC, Custom Culinary Inc.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Jerald Chesser, CEC, FMP, CCE, AAC, The Collins College of Hospitality Management at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, Calif.

This year the RCA also held a Student Culinology Competition, in which six student teams competed for first prize and $5,000 cash. Each team developed a frozen, restaurant-quality gourmet vegetarian meal for a fictional retail grocery chain, which had to be inspired by Southwestern cuisine. The winning team prepared a blue corn tortilla stuffed with black beans and quinoa accompanied by chipotle roasted potatoes and Southwestern succotash with a roasted red pepper and chimichurri sauce.

The winners were:

First place
Johnson & Wales University--Providence, R.I.

Second place
University of Cincinnati

Third place
University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada

The 2011 RCA Annual Conference and Culinology Expo is scheduled to take place next March in Atlanta. For more information, visit